Visa run

So I’ve been sick with bronchitis and a sinus infection the past 2 weeks, and that has, in a word, sucked. I wanted to write a new blog post as soon as we got back from Guatemala, but I just didn’t feel like it. Right now I am still coughing quite a bit and my ears are plugged up, but I am still feeling better than I have in a while. So here’s the update.

All of us had to renew our visas for the next 3 months, and of course in order to do so we needed to leave the country for a few days. Guatemala was the decided destination, so the plans were made and off we went. 2 people went to one area, 1 went to another, 1 went to even another, and the rest of us went to Livingston.

We all took the same chartered bus to the border, which took about 2 1/2 hours, then got into another bus for another hour or so, at which point we split up. I suppose I should mention here that about 10 minutes into our trip, I realized that I hadn’t brought along my passport, and so we had to turn around and go pick it up. Yes, I felt appropriately silly and foolish for doing so, so let’s just leave it at that.

Once we were about an hour into Guatemala, we got off the final bus, and began walking. Our first stop was at a bank to gather some local currency, and then we had to make our way to the docks, in order to get a boat for the final leg of our journey to Livingston. The boat trip was only about 20 minutes, and the waters were calm, so it was pretty enjoyable. I did enjoy the surrounding scenery as well, mountain ranges towering over the waters.

Once we arrived, I was immediately struck by how similar the place looked and felt to Abaco. Long, slim streets, shanty looking buildings, vendors on either side and surrounded by water. I suppose many places look this way, but that was my first reference. The main difference in the environment obviously were the mountains on the horizon; I still can’t take the mountain views for granted.

We stayed at a place called Casa Rosada, and slept in 2 bedroom huts. I call them huts because that’s really all they were; 2 beds, a lamp and a roof. It was perfectly comfortable, though. The food offered at the hotel was tasty, if a bit pricey, and the cappuccino was delightful. Yes, I used the word delightful to describe cappuccino. I don’t care how dainty that makes me seem. They offered high-speed internet which was a great addition, and there was one more thing. The official hotel pet, was this huge, fat black cat named “Peaboo” (or something to that effect). I didn’t see it until the second day there, but once it showed up, there was no missing it. That thing must have weighed at least 15 pounds. I just had to take a picture of it.

We arrived on Thursday afternoon and left on Sunday morning. It was a restful, enjoyable time, but the morning we left I was feeling a bit queasy, and that feeling only got worse as the day continued. I still don’t know how I made it all the way back to Cofradia without throwing up, though I did eventually. I had been feeling unwell since 2 days before we left, and as of today I still am not 100% healthy (that’s almost 3 weeks, for those of you keeping score). I’ve been on so many different drugs since then, I would be surprised if I haven’t built up some sort of immunity to medication by now.

Anyway, I’m not complaining, and like I said, I’m feeling ok now, just the lingering cough and plugged ears at the moment. I took a few pictures of the trip, and they are all here for your viewing pleasure. You will note the street vendors, the mountain views on the boat ride, the Casa Rosada, and of course, the Chiquita freight ship. We did pass the Chiquita warehouse as we were walking, but alas, I did not take a picture. If you are disappointed by this unfortunate revelation, then you have my condolences.

My sickness kept me out of school for 5 consecutive days, and for 7 out of the last 13 school days. I returned on Friday, and was genuinely surprised at how much I had missed the kids and the school itself. The kids had made me some get well cards which were very much appreciated, and most of them seemed genuinely happy to have me back in class. I am most appreciative to Becky, Reiko and everyone else who stepped in to take over my classes while I was out.

That’s it for today; hope everyone enjoys the pics.

2 Comments

  1. Hey Cary,

    I am so sorry you haven’t been feeling well for so long a period of time, but it will all be a memory soon. I love your pictures, they do remind me of the islands here, except of course the mountains, and the fact that the water doesn’t look as clear as ours, but I loved the shots of the streets and the vendors.
    At least you know you are loved if the kids missed you, so you must be doing something right. I applaud you for your desire to help those in far away countries, like I mentioned to Samantha, you are far more brave than I am, but someone has to do it right? and you seem to be just the one.
    Keep up the good work, and the blogs, I love to read them.
    Stay safe.

    Love Crystal and family

Leave a comment